Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

Haven't a clue what galangal is, or need to know what to use if you can't buy creme fraiche locally? We're sure our knowledgeable members will be able to point you in the right direction...

 
 
 

Previous | Page :  1  2  3
avatar
.

Cheese

Ok, so maybe I'm being unsympathetic but really this whole veggie cheese thing is getting tedious.

Cheese is made with rennet, unless marked as vegetarian. I am not anti-vegetarian, I am married to one, but I do think it is the responsibility of the person with the special dietary requirements to clearly inform the cook of what is and isn't suitable.

It you only eat veggie cheese, say so. If you are a new vegetarian do your research and check the labels on everything you buy until you are comfortable with what you can eat.

It is not the responsibility of books to caveat every recipe, or that of a host/hostess to do endless research. What ever happened to personal responsibility? Not so many years you couldn't get veggie cheese anywhere other than specialist whole food shops.

avatar
Gerry

"hard cheese"

"Ok, so maybe I'm being unsympathetic but really this whole veggie cheese thing is getting tedious. "
Totally agree, ES; thought it was done to death weeks ago. Delia makes things perfectly clear except to a hard-line food-fascist. In the West we're lucky to get enough to eat and with the choices we have. Anyway, go back far enough and all life is related. Talking of hypocrisy, mushroom-eating veggies (I know some) seem unconcerned that all fungi are outside the vegetable kingdom and are in one more closely resembling that of the animal kingdom. Rant over!

avatar
Yummy

Vegetarian ingredients

It would appear that whilst all meat eating cooks would appear to, at least, try and accommodate their Vegetarian guests, little could be said for the reverse. I know this post will be rather against what is deemed acceptable on this forum, but it is true. So PLEASE allow a little give and take when reading and adapting the recipes to your personal tastes......
All recipes, Delia's included, are meant to be a guide, they are NOT sacrosanct and may be adapted to suit your individual requirements.

avatar
SonyaK

Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

"Talking of hypocrisy, mushroom-eating veggies (I know some) seem unconcerned that all fungi are outside the vegetable kingdom and are in one more closely resembling that of the animal kingdom. Rant over!"

I thought fungi were their own kingdom, and were originally in with plants. Don't see any more resemblance to animals than plants.
But vegetarians don't say they only eat plants - just don't eat animals. So fungi seem OK to me.

I've never thought of cheeses as containing "meat" - it's rennet not flesh, which is the usual definition of meat.

And I agree this whole vege cheese thing is getting tedious!!

avatar
Welshcookie

Parmesan

Up-thread a poster who claims to be a new vegetarian says she is 'HORRIFIED' to find Parmesan in a veggi recipe. But if she is a new vegetarian doesn't that imply that in the recent past she wouldn't have cared a fig? Isn't this all a bit silly? Save the moral outrage for serious things, surely?

avatar
Marinegirl

Labelling

According to Article 35 of the European Food Information Act, “The term 'vegetarian' should not be applied to foods that are, or are made from or with the aid of products derived from animals that have died, have been slaughtered, or animals that die as a result of being eaten.”

When this legislation comes into force in the UK (around 2014) will this website stop listing recipes with ingredients that contain products derived from slaughtered animals as vegetarian?

In the mean time it would help meat eaters to cook vegetarian food for vegetarian guests if you included a note on “vegetarian” recipes stating which ingredients are not actually vegetarian, pointing out that some cheeses, particularly Parmesan, are not vegetarian and that people should check the packaging in supermarkets. Better still, why not use your site to promote some of the excellent British cheeses that are vegetarian, e.g. Bookhams.

Parmesan in vegetarian recipes

Marinegirl, all the introductions to recipes in our vegetarian section that contain parmesan have the information that Bookhams make a vegetarian parmesan style cheese.

avatar
Marinegirl

'Vegetarian' Ingredients

What about the other cheeses? It is unlikely that pecorino etc are vegetarian. Even with the rather vague bit about Bookhams at the top of parmesan recipes I think it is misleading to promote ingredients as vegetarian when they are not. In my experience the majority of meat eaters and even some new vegetarians are ignorant of the fact that cheese may or may not be vegetarian. It would therefore be helpful to have a clearer statement on all recipes explaining this and suggesting ingredients that are vegetarian.

avatar
JAMES

Parmesan.

I do think the info about Bookhams is pretty clear and an unsure why you have dragged up an old thread that was last replied to 4 months ago! :)

Its a bit twilight zone. The official site line on this matter has already been stated.

avatar
simone-parma

wonderful but...

i hope you used only the real parmesan from parma italy! :) http://www.parmashop.it

 
Previous | Page :  1  2  3

Return to Homepage
Visit the Delia Online Cookery School with Waitrose
Click here to go to Waitrose.com

 

 




NetObserver
CMS solutions by REDtechnology.com