Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

Haven't a clue what galangal is, or need to know what to use if you can't buy creme fraiche locally? We're sure our knowledgeable members will be able to point you in the right direction...

 
 
 

Previous | Page :  1  2  3  | Next 
avatar
SonyaK

Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

"A veg that knowingly eats anything with animal products in it is a hypocrite. "

I think that rather depends on why one is vegetarian. If it's for very ethical reasons, then you're probably right. But I went vegetarian because I didn't want to eat any more dead flesh, which I don't.
And also, how do you define "animal products" - surely the milk the cheese is made from is an animal product?
And I believe the milk production industry involves killing lots of very young calves - born to keep the cows producing milk all the time. So milk and hence cheese production is not very ethical either.

avatar
JaneMR

Veggie parmesan

I usually ask any guest if they have any dietary requests, so personally feel that if someone has a problem with a particular ingredient, then it is up to them to tell me in advance.

Many vegetarians do eat cheese and it would not occur to me to think about its manufacture. Again, if someone has a need, then they should let me know what they already do!

avatar
Gravy Queen

Veggie Parmesan

Just a thought but not everyone who is vegetarian is so because of animal welfare. I know quite a few who simply do not like the taste or texture of meat. Therefore parmesan may be perfectly acceptable to some. So they are not necessarily hyocrites either.

avatar
LMS

Parmesan

Gravy Queen, I totally agree with you about people's choices of what to eat but I don't think a Jewish Cookbook would have a recipe for Sweet and Sour Pork with a note somewhere in the introduction telling one to replace the pork with an acceptable alternative.

avatar
JAMES

Parmesan.

I don't think Delias vegetarian book does anything nearly that severe either...................

avatar
LMS

Parmesan

Indeed, (although to some using rennet obtained from slaughtered calves in a recipe for Parmesan Parsnips in a dedicated vegetarian cookbook would be considered so) but the principle is the same and as a professional, trusted food writer Delia should know better. I'm bowing out of this thread now (well, I'll try to) as it keeps going off topic. I'm dealing direct with the support of the Vegetarian and Vegan Societies.

avatar
JAMES

Parmesan

Sorry, but the parsnip recipe CLEARLY gives instructions.

avatar
SonyaK

Parmesan

"I don't think Delias vegetarian book does anything nearly that severe either..................."

I agree James. I have Delia's Vegetarian book and really like it.

Also I don't see where this thread has gone "off topic"!!

No strict Jews would eat Pork, but vegetarians are a much more varied group!!
When I fly I ask for lacto-ovo vegetarian food, but I've never queried what they use in their cheese. And the food nearly always involves cheese!!
If I was worried I guess I'd go for the vegan option, just to be safe.


avatar
SonyaK

Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

Vegetarian - a person who does not eat meat or fish, and sometimes other animal products, especially for moral, religious, or health reasons.

From The Oxford Dictionary.

avatar
Nausea Bagwash

veggies

"A veg that knowingly eats anything with animal products in it is a hypocrite."
..................
Rather a sweeping statement, BdF!

Vegetarians are vegetarian for a range of reasons. For instance my veggie cousin is veggie because she doesn't like the taste of meat and fish, not because she has ethical issues.

avatar
Nausea Bagwash

Dietary considerations

"I may be a bit of a pedant but I would never expect a vegetarian eating at my table to witness other guests eating meat or fish as I want everyone to have a pleasant and relaxed meal."
.........
Well, of course not - I've said something similar on here in the past. If in doubt cater to the lowest common denominator.

Regarding your comment on the Kosher issue - any host worth his or her salt would surely research the culinary issues if s/he knew that a guest was observant. I have actually chickened out in those circumstances by doing a vegan menu. Kosher and similar religious diets are a trap for the unwary - best to err on the safe side! Mind you, I pumped the guest for recipes afterwards ;-).

avatar
HeidiFreya

New Vegetarian

I actually started a new thread today before I saw this post... I am a "new" vegetarian so still finding my way and I was horrified to see Parmesan in Delia's VEGETARIAN cookbook, with no mention of the fact that I should use a vegetarian option... It was only through talking to friends that I even found out about parmesan. I think it's a huge error to make in a Vegetarian cookbook :-(

avatar
JAMES

Parmesan.

Its not a huge error at all.

Everything is open to interpretation and Delias is obviously that vegetarians do not eat meat.

avatar
LMS

Parmesan

Correct....vegetarians do not eat meat. Parmesan contains meat.

avatar
Guacamole

Hard Cheese

Don't most hard cheeses contain 'meat'?

 
Previous | Page :  1  2  3  | Next 

Return to Homepage
Visit the Delia Online Cookery School with Waitrose
Click here to go to Waitrose.com

 

 




NetObserver
CMS solutions by REDtechnology.com