Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

Haven't a clue what galangal is, or need to know what to use if you can't buy creme fraiche locally? We're sure our knowledgeable members will be able to point you in the right direction...

 
 
 

Page :  1  2  3  | Next 
avatar
LMS

Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

Please will all you professionals stop using Parmesan in vegetarian recipes.

Parmesan/Parmigiano-Reggiano is an EU Protected Designation of Origin product and has to be made using calf rennet, so it's definitely not
suitable for vegetarians.

avatar
.

parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

The following is a quote from the vegetarian recipes section:

"Vegetarians might like to know that a vegetarian parmesan-style cheese is available from www.bookhamcheese.co.uk"

avatar
LMS

Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

If the recipe is in the vegetarian section then the vegetarian alternative to Parmesan should be in the ingredients list.

You wouldn't list chicken stock in a vegetarian recipe then put a note elsewhere saying you can use vegetable stock instead.

avatar
Darkginger

Vegetarian ingredients

Totally agree - whilst not vegetarian myself, I respect those who choose to be so - and all too often you see so-called veggie recipes including gelatine, or suet etc. Yes, there are veggie versions available, but I think they should be listed as 'vegetarian suet' etc, in recipes aimed at veggie cooks. Remember that some people using these recipes may not be vegetarian themselves (cooking for a veggie dinner guest, for example), and therefore unaware of the animal content of the ingredients.

Parmesan

LMS please can you let me know which recipes on our site that contain Parmesan do not have a note in the introduction which advises on a vegetarian version of the cheese?

avatar
LMS

Parmesan

I realise there is a note on the opening page but I still feel it is wrong to list Parmesan in the ingredients as in the Winter Vegetable Pie. If it's a vegetarian recipe, list the vegetarian cheese...there are plenty easily available on supermarket shelves. It's a bit like using a recipe for steak and kidney pudding with a note to substitute the steak and kidney and beef stock to make chestnut and mushroom pudding...very similar dishes using the similar methods

"...if you prefer, you can substitute the cheese mentioned with a veggie version- supermarkets sell some of them." That is the only way it will be vegetarian, no question of preference.

From 2014, there will be a legal definition of vegetarian and vegan replacing the Food Standards Agency guidelines and Trading Standards issues, though this will apply more to restaurants, food manufacturers, caterers etc.

avatar
JAMES

Parmesan

To be fair, the winter vegetable pie is not advertised as a vegetarian dish, its in the "English" section.

I also think putting the message about vegetarian parmesan style cheese being available more than covers the issue. All of my veggie friends happily eat parmesan anyway.

avatar
LMS

Parmesan

I found the recipe this way...recipes page, vegetarian search and there it is. Delia also uses Parmesan in her "Vegetarian" cook book.

Parmesan contains animal rennet from a calve's stomach. I understand some vegetarians eat dairy produce but the rennet is obtained from slaughtered calves...how is that acceptable to your vegetarian friends?

avatar
.

Rennet

LMS, it isn't just parmesan (although due to its protected status it cannot carry that name if it is veggie), it is any cheese. OK, so these days supermarkets have cottoned on and stock mainly vegetarian cheeses, but I would never assume a cheese was vegetarian and ALWAYS check the ingredients list. Even 100% vegetarian chiefs don't state 'vegetarian cheese' every time the word cheese is required, but will have an introductory note.

I am sure the web team have taken your concerns on board and will consider the issue further.

Happy cooking.

avatar
JAMES

Parmesan

"
Parmesan contains animal rennet from a calve's stomach. I understand some vegetarians eat dairy produce but the rennet is obtained from slaughtered calves...how is that acceptable to your vegetarian friends?"

How would I know, you'd have to ask them! All I know is most of my veggie friends happily eat, buy and use parmesan cheese.

I'd expect anyone that knows anything about cooking to check these things when cooking for anyone with any special diet. Personally, I'd not use parmesan if I had a veggie guest coming, but the fact that an alternative is suggested really should be enough. There are those tubs of "italian hard cheese" in most supermarkets, and many of them are suitable for veggies, and very close in character to parmesan. Not quite as good, but perfectly acceptable.

avatar
LMS

Parmesan

"I'd expect anyone that knows anything about cooking to check these things when cooking for anyone with any special diet."

James, you're quote above is my point exactly. I thought Delia would check on behalf of those who don't know anything about cooking, when including recipes for special diets.

I like that you use alternatives for your guests :o)

avatar
SonyaK

Parmesan in recipe listed as vegetarian

I consider myself vegetarian - don't eat any meat or fish.
But I do eat Parmesan and other regular cheeses - not too bothered about the rennet problem.
I also have a leather handbag and wear leather shoes - so not a purist, I guess!!

avatar
JAMES

Parmesan

"I like that you use alternatives for your guests :o)
"

I think its just the right thing to do. Whilst most if not all of my veggie friends will happily eat parmesan, I don't feel that its my choice to make on their behalf.

Waitrose do a veggie parmesan style, and like I said those tubs of dried hard italian cheese are quite often veggie so its just a case of checking. Do I think its as good as the real thing? No I don't, but they are certainly not bad............

Dedicated meat eaters would always get the real thing, but my veggie friends are always offered something suitable instead. I also do not cater to both crowds. If one of my guests is a veggie, we all eat veggie. Plenty of fabulous dishes to choose from, I've never had any complaints from my meat eating mates and I think we all know that its not healthy to eat meat every single day anyway.

As much as I love to cook, I can't be doing with making two dishes when its only 4-6 people.....

x

avatar
sandra

Parmesan

Think this is all a tad ridiculous TBH.

Every vegetarian I know is well aware of the many options to real parmesan. The stuff is sold in every supermarket - can't see the problem.

avatar
Darkginger

Veggie Parmesan

Yes, every VEGGIE will be aware of this - but not everyone trying to cook for vegetarians - and those are the people most likely to be looking for vegetarian recipes, because they're outside of their usual repetoire. If you have a vegetarian coming for dinner, you try to make sure they can eat what you cook - and TBH, it wouldn't have occurred to me that Parmesan wasn't a vegetarian ingredient. That's why it would be helpful for the ingredients for a dish which is supposed to be appropriate for vegetarians to be specified as vegetarian. See?

 
Page :  1  2  3  | Next 

Return to Homepage
Visit the Delia Online Cookery School with Waitrose
Click here to go to Waitrose.com

 

 




NetObserver
CMS solutions by REDtechnology.com